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FROM: Mark Wolf, Senior Fiscal Analyst 

RE: Child Development and Care (CDC) Program 
 
This memorandum provides an overview of the Child Development and Care (CDC) program, which is 
now administered by the Department of Education (MDE) following the establishment of the Office of 
Great Start by Executive Order 2011-8.   
 
The state's Child Development and Care (CDC) program provides state support for low-income and 
other qualifying families in need of child day care for children in order to work or participate in 
education or training activities.  The program is jointly administered by the MDE Office of Great Start 
and the Department    of Human Services.  The Department of Education is the designated Lead 
Agency for the program and is responsible for financial management, policy development, and quality 
assurance.  Child care subsidy payments are also appropriated in the MDE budget.  The Department 
of Human Services is responsible for program eligibility, the conduct of administrative hearings, and 
child care licensing, and receives administrative funding support through an interdepartmental grant 
within the MDE budget.   
 
Fund Sources 
There are essentially two main statutory bases for state CDC programs.  Section 418 of the federal 
Social Security Act (SSA) provides "mandatory" funding to state for child care subsidies, based on the 
amount the state received under child care programs under the federal welfare program Aid to 
Families with Dependent Children (AFDC) prior to the 1996 reforms.  Michigan's mandatory funding 
level is $32.1 million.  This mandatory funding does not require a state-match.   
 
Funding above the mandatory level is available as matching funds, in which the state must meet a 
maintenance-of-effort (MOE) requirement, which totals $24.4 million for Michigan.  Once a state 
meets its MOE requirement, state spending above the MOE requirement is matched at its current 
federal Medicaid (FMAP) rate (66.39% in FY 2013).  The state's match and MOE consist primarily of 
GF/GP appropriated for child care subsidies, GF/GP appropriated for a provider billing reconciliation 
unit, and funding within the School Aid budget for the Great Start Readiness Program, which provides 
approximately 29,000 pre-school slots to at-risk children.   
 
Additionally, the federal Child Care Development Block Grant Act (CCDBG) provides states 
"discretionary" funds that do not have a MOE or match requirement, based on funds appropriated for 
the federal Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).  Funding through the SSA and the 
CCDBG are collectively referred to as the Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF).   
 
States are required to expend at least 4% of the CCDF funds on activities that provide consumer 
education, increase parental choice, and improve the quality and availability of child care.  In addition 
to this 4% set aside requirement, the HHS appropriations act for the past several years has included 
specific earmarks for child care resource and referral activities, school-age child care activities,  
activities to improve the quality of infant and toddler care, and additional quality activities.  These 
funds are referred to as "targeted" funds.  Generally speaking, CCDF quality funds allocated to the 
state are administered by the Early Childhood Investment Corporation (ECIC) and support the nine 
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Great Start Regional Child Care Resource Centers, support the Great Start Connect website, provide 
child care workers with scholarship assistance to continue their education and professional 
development, and support the development of the Tiered Quality Rating Improvement System 
(TQRIS), which aims to improve the quality of programming and staffing of child care providers.   
 
In addition to the direct appropriation of CCDF funds to states, federal law also permits states, at their 
discretion, to transfer up to 30% of their Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) block grant 
funds to the CCDF.  In Michigan, TANF funds transferred to the CCDF, which are subject to CCDF 
requirements, averaged around $116.7 million during FY 2005 to FY 2009, with no transfer made in 
the last three years.  In addition to the TANF transfer, federal law also permits states to directly spend 
TANF block grant funds on child care services for needy families.  These direct funds are subject to 
applicable TANF requirements, and may also be subject to CCDF requirements.   States may also 
expend a portion of their Title XX Social Services Block Grant funds as well as Title IV-E foster care 
funds on child care services, with each fund source totaling less than $10.0 million annually.   
 

 
Source:  U.S. Department of Health and Human Services 
 
CCDF State Plan 
CCDF funds are allocated to one lead agency within each state.  The state's lead agency, following 
the creation of the Office of Great Start, is the Department of Education.  Each lead agency is charged 
with developing a biennial state plan detailing various aspects of their program administration, 
including program eligibility criteria, priorities in children served, fee schedules, provider payment 
rates, quality improvement initiatives, and program integrity measures.  Additionally, state plans must 
also ensure that their programs include elements related to parental choice, parental access, parental 
complaints, consumer education, licensing and regulation, and health and safety requirements.1   
 
CDC Program Eligibility 
States have a significant amount of flexibility in implementing the CDC programs, including 
determining client eligibility, provider eligibility and requirements, provider payment rates, and client 
cost-sharing requirements. Federal law provides that children eligible for assistance must be less than 
13 years of age (or, at the state's discretion, up to age 18 if they require care due to a physical or 
mental condition), have a family income that does not exceed 85% of the state median income, and 

                                                           
1 See Michigan's 2012-2013 biennial CCDF State Plan, http://www.michigan.gov/documents/dhs/2012-
2013_State_Plan-_Final_365274_7.pdf 
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reside with a parent who is working or attending a job training or educational program or who is 
receiving child protective services. Most children receiving CCDF-funded care are 4 years old or 
younger, given that the need for care decreases for school-age children.   
 
State CCDF policy requires a child's parents to have a valid need reason as to why they are unable 
to care for the child.  The state provides for four general need reasons:   
 

• Family preservation, such as a medical condition which renders the parent unable to care for 
the child;  

• High school completion;  
• An approved activity, such as job training approved by Michigan Works! or the Michigan 

Rehabilitation Services; or  
• Employment 

 
In addition to the family need reason, eligibility is also based on each family's eligibility group.  Three 
eligibility groups are categorically eligible for assistance:   
 

• Have an open children's protective services (CPS) case;  
• Have an active DHS-paid foster care case;  
• Receive Family Independence Program (FIP) assistance, extended FIP assistance, or SSI 

benefits.   
 
Families not meeting the requirements of the three categorically eligible groups (and having a 
valid need reason), may receive CDC assistance if they meet certain income eligibility 
requirements, based on the program group size.  The chart below shows the number of children 
served by the CDC program in FY 2011 according to family need reason and eligibility group.  

 
FY 2011 – Children in CDC Program by Eligibility Reason 

 

 
Family High School Approved 

 
Total  

 
Preservation Completion Activity Employment Eligibility 

Protective Services 185  0  0  0  185  
Foster Care 107  7  177  2,749  3,040  
FIP Related 1,012  611  21,804  18,158  41,585  
Income Eligible 494  456  6,076  49,094  56,120  
Total Need 1,798  1,074  28,057  70,001  100,930  

Source:  Department of Education, Office of Great Start 
 
Child Care Providers 
The underlying principle of the CDC program is that parents must be given the maximum choice and 
flexibility in selecting a quality child care provider.  At the time of enrollment, parents are given the 
option of choosing the type of child care provider, including licensed child care centers, licensed group 
homes, registered family homes, and unlicensed providers (relative providers or day-care aides).  
Unlicensed providers must either (1) provide care in the child's home or (2) provide care in the 
provider's home and be related to the child by blood, marriage, or adoption as a grandparent, 
aunt/uncle, or sibling.  The chart below shows the number of providers receiving payment from FY 
2009 to FY 2011.  During these years there was a significant decline in the number of providers due, 
in part, to a decrease in the number of CDC cases, implementation of a training requirement for 
unlicensed providers, and the impact of the economic downturn on licensed and registered child care 
facilities.  
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Child Care Providers 

 

 
FY 2008-09 FY 2009-10 FY 2010-11 FY09-FY11 Change 

 
Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 

Licensed Centers 2,276 4.6% 2,117 6.0% 3,352 17.0% 1,076  47.3% 
Licensed Group Homes 2,199 4.5% 1,969 5.6% 2,625 13.3% 426  19.4% 
Registered Family Homes 2,697 5.5% 2,346 6.6% 2,751 13.9% 54  2.0% 
Unlicensed Providers 42,152 85.4% 28,981 81.8% 10,910 55.2% (31,242) (74.1)% 
License-Exempt Providers 13 0.0% 13 0.0% 135 0.7% 122  938.5% 
Total 49,337 100.0% 35,426 100.0% 19,773 100.0% (29,564) (59.9)% 
Source:  Department of Education, Office of Great Start 
 
The chart below shows the number, and percentage, of children served by the type of child care 
setting for the last three fiscal years.   
 

Children by Provider Type 
 

 
FY 2008-09 FY 2009-10 FY 2010-11 FY09-FY11 Change 

 
Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent Number Percent 

Licensed Centers 32,857  19.3% 34,839  25.6% 32,388  39.7% (469) -1.4% 
Licensed Group Homes 18,604  10.9% 16,566  12.2% 14,563  17.8% (4,041) -21.7% 
Registered Family Homes 12,041  7.1% 10,726  7.9% 9,407  11.5% (2,634) -21.9% 
Unlicensed Providers 106,758  62.6% 73,667  54.1% 24,648  30.2% (82,110) -76.9% 
License-Exempt Providers 208  0.1% 293  0.2% 650  0.8% 442  212.5% 
Total 170,468  100.0% 136,091  100.0% 81,656  100.0% (88,812) -52.1% 

Source:  Department of Education, Office of Great Start 
 
Provider Payment Rates 
In ensuring that parents have flexibility in selecting the child care provider of their choice, federal law 
(42 USC 9858c) provides that provider payment rates must be "sufficient to ensure equal access for 
eligible children to comparable child care services in the State or substate area that are provided to 
children whose parents are not eligible to receive assistance."  In assessing their provider rate 
schedule, states are to utilize a Market Rate Survey (MRS) to determine the current child care costs, 
although states are not required to set rates at the MRS rates.  HHS suggests that provider payment 
rates be at least equal to the 75th percentile of the market rate to ensure equal access.  The CDC rate 
ranges from 50% to 100% of the MRS 75th percentile rate, depending on the type of provider and the 
age of the child in care. The chart below shows the current CDC hourly rates, effective October 9, 
2011 and the MRS 75th percentile rate by the age of the child in care and the type of child care 
setting.    
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Provider Payment Rates v. Market Rates 

 

Licensed Child Care Centers CDC Rate MRS Rate Ratio 
  - Birth to 2.5 years $3.75  $5.13  73.1% 
  - 2.5 years to 5 years (Pre-K) $2.50  $5.00  50.0% 
  - 5 years (K) to 12 years $2.50  $4.50  55.6% 
  

  
  

Family Child Care Homes 
  

  
  - Birth to 2.5 years $2.90  $4.00  72.5% 
  - 2.5 years to 5 years (Pre-K) $2.40  $3.71  64.7% 
  - 5 years (K) to 12 years $2.40  $3.50  68.6% 
  

  
  

Group child Care Homes CDC Rate MRS Rate Ratio 
  - Birth to 2.5 years $2.90  $3.75  77.3% 
  - 2.5 years to 5 years (Pre-K) $2.40  $3.50  68.6% 
  - 5 years (K) to 12 years $2.40  $3.50  68.6% 
  

  
  

Unlicensed Providers (Tier 1) CDC Rate MRS Rate Ratio 
  - Birth to 2.5 years $1.35  $2.20  61.4% 
  - 2.5 years to 5 years (Pre-K) $1.35  $2.00  67.5% 
  - 5 years (K) to 12 years $1.35  $2.00  67.5% 
  

  
  

Unlicensed Providers (Tier 2) CDC Rate MRS Rate Ratio 
  - Birth to 2.5 years $2.20  $2.20  100.0% 
  - 2.5 years to 5 years (Pre-K) $1.85  $1.85  100.0% 
  - 5 years (K) to 12 years $1.85  $2.00  92.5% 

Source:  Michigan FYs 2012-2013 CCDF State Plan, DHS Bridges 
Eligibility Manual. 

 
Before unlicensed providers are eligible to receive payment, they must participate in a six-hour basic 
training course covering first aid and CPR, nutrition, health and safety, shaken baby syndrome, and 
safe sleep practices. Providers completing just this level of training are referred to as Tier 1 providers.  
Unlicensed providers can receive a higher hourly rate by completing an additional 10 hours of training 
per year through the Great Start Regional Child Care Resource Centers.  According to the Office of 
Great Start, only 8% of the active unlicensed providers are Tier 2 providers.  The office notes, 
however, that under current policy the higher hourly rate is awarded for the full calendar year following 
completion of the tier 2 training.2  The policy is being revised by the Office of Great Start so that the 
higher hourly rate will provided, for one year, upon completion of the additional training.  Tier 2 
providers will need to complete 10 hours of training annually to continue to receive the higher 
payment rate.3  The new policy is should go into effect on March 19th.     
 

                                                           
2 For example, if a provider completed the 10 hours of training in March 2011, the higher payment rate would be 
payable for the 2013 calendar year.   
3 For example, if a provider completed the 10 hours of training required in July 2012, the provider would receive 
the higher payment rate starting in July 2012, and would need to complete an additional 10 hours of training by 
July 2013 to continue receiving the higher rate.   
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Actual provider rates are generally driven by the legislative appropriations, with rates typically 
determined by the department, based on available appropriations and projected caseloads.4  In FY 
2009-10 (2009 PA 248) and FY 2010-11 (2010 PA 190), provider payment rates were specifically 
established in boilerplate.  That language was dropped in FY 2011-12 in favor of DHS developing the 
rate schedule.  In other years, the Legislature has specifically earmarked funds to increase provider 
payment rates for caring for infants and toddlers.   
 
The state does not strictly pay the maximum hour rate, as specified in the rate schedule noted above.  
Rather, the hourly pay rate is multiplied by a department pay percentage (DP%).  The DP% is 100% 
for categorically-eligible clients (FIP-related, protective services, and foster care), and ranges from 
70% to 95% according to program group size and income for income-eligible clients.5    Federal law 
limits eligibility to families with an income of 85% of the state median income.  For a family of four in 
Michigan, the monthly income limit ($2,367) is 37% of the state monthly median income ($6,365).   
 
PROGRAM  Gross Monthly Income (GMI) No CDC Assistance 
Group Size (Effective February 1, 2003) if GMI is Over 

1-2 $0 - $1496 $1497 - $1533 $1534 - $1570 $1571 - $1607 $1,607  
3 $0 - $1847 $1848 - $1895 $1896 - $1943 $1944 - $1990 $1,990  
4 $0 - $2198 $2199 - $2255 $2256 - $2311 $2312 - $2367 $2,367  
5 $0 - $2551 $2552 - $2616 $2617 - $2681 $2682 - $2746 $2,746  
6 $0 - $2902 $2903 - $2976 $2977 - $3050 $3051 - $3123 $3,123  
7 $0 - $3253 $3254 - $3336 $3337 - $3418 $3419 - $3500 $3,500  
8 $0 - $3604 $3605 - $3695 $3696 - $3786 $3787 - $3877 $3,877  
9 $0 - $3955 $3956 - $4055 $4056 - $4155 $4156 - $4254 $4,254  

10+  $0 - $4309 $4310 - $4417 $4418 - $4525 $4526 - $4634 $4,634  
DP % 95% 90% 80% 70% 

 Source:  DHS Bridges Eligibility Manual 
   
The product of the CDC hourly rate and the DP% is multiplied by the total number of hours provided in 
the two-week billing period to determining the provider's bi-weekly payment.  The maximum number of 
hours of care paid through the CDC for a recipient (child) is 80 hours per two-week period.6  The total 
number of hours a provider may be paid in a two-week period is limited to: 
 

• Licensed Child Care Centers:  No limit. 
• Licensed Group Homes:  1,440 hours 
• Registered Family Homes:  720 hours 
• Unlicensed Providers:  560 hours 

 
 

                                                           
4 Rule 9 (R 400.5009) of the Department of Education's CDC program rules states, "provider reimbursement 
rates shall be established by the department or legislature based on available actual appropriations and the 
number of eligible recipients."   
5 Rule 2 (R 400.5002) of the MDE's CDC program rules states,  "the upper income limit for families that receive 
child development and care payments and are not exempt from an income test shall be based on available 
actual appropriations and the number of eligible recipients."   
6 Rule 13 (R 400.5013) of the MDE's CDC program rules notes, "The department may limit the maximum 
amount of child care that can be authorized by day or by pay period, or both, based on available actual 
appropriations and the number of eligible recipients."   
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FY 2011 – Average Monthly Hours in Care for a Child by Provider Type 
 

 

Licensed 
Centers 

Licensed Group 
Homes 

Registered 
Family Homes 

Unlicensed 
Providers 

License-Exempt 
Providers 

Infants (0 to <1 yr) 118 124 124 136 66 
Toddlers (1 yr to <3 yrs) 120 127 122 139 81 
Preschool (3 yrs to <6 yrs) 109 119 116 137 97 
School Age (6 yrs to <13 yrs) 74 101 98 135 110 
13 years+ (with disability or 
court ordered supervision) 81 105 131 140 180 

All Ages 103 115 112 136 90 
Source:  Department of Education, Office of Great Start 
 
Caseload Statistics 
 

 
Source:  Department of Human Services.  Note:  Caseload data shows the monthly average number of cases. 
 
The chart above shows expenditure and average monthly caseload data for the last decade.  The 
drop in caseloads is partly attributable to the employment status of parents.  The predominant family 
need reason is the need for child care due to the employment of the child's parents.  However, during 
the economic downturn the number of unemployed workers increased and, as a result, there was a 
lesser demand for child care services.  Additionally, the income limits for income-eligible families were 
last changed in 2003.  As incomes rise, more families become ineligible for CDC assistance.   Policy 
changes, such as limiting billable hours, have also contributed to the decline in caseloads and 
spending.    
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Conclusion 
 
The state's CDC program provides needed child day care subsidies to thousands of families in the 
state, enabling families to remain employed or to pursue other activities in pursuit of an educational or 
employment outcome.  Operating within a broad federal framework, the state has a great deal of 
flexibility in designing the CDC program requirements and policies concerning families and child care 
providers, which drive program caseloads and the state and federal financial resources that go 
therewith.  In the past the Legislature has taken a direct role in shaping CDC program policy, such as 
establishing provider payment rates.  The Legislature has also taken an indirect role with available 
appropriations determining CDC policy on such matters as income eligibility requirements and the 
maximum amount of billable hours of child care.   
 
Should you have any questions feel free to contact me at 373-8080.   
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